I studied the language before. How do I know which level of Rosetta Stone is right for me? - Rosetta Stone Support for Personal

Additional Help


I studied the language before. How do I know which level of Rosetta Stone is right for me?

In our Language Learning software, Rosetta Stone® features 12 or 20 units of lessons, depending on the language.

Units 1-4: These units help build a foundation of fundamental vocabulary and essential language structure. Vocabulary and skills emphasized include: 

  • Greetings and Introductions
  • Simple questions and answers
  • Shopping
  • Listening comprehension skills
  • Basic reading and writing skills

Topics in units 1-4:

  • Language Basics
  • Greetings and Introductions
  • Work and School
  • Shopping


Units 5-8: These units allow learners to navigate their surroundings as they build on the vocabulary and essential language structure in units 1-4. Vocabulary and skills emphasized include:

  • Learn intermediate-level conversational skills
  • Spell and write accurately
  • Speak without a script
  • Retain what you’ve learned
  • Read and understand in your new language
  • Giving and getting directions
  • Using transportation
  • Telling time
  • Dining out
  • Enjoying basic social interactions
  • Working life


Topics in units 5-8:

  • Travel
  • Past and Future
  • Friends and Social Life
  • Dining and Vacation


Units 9-12: These units let learners connect with the world around them by building on the language fundamentals and conversational skills they developed in units 1-8. Vocabulary and skills emphasized include:

  • Learn to share your ideas and opinions
  • Express your feelings
  • Talk about everyday life
  • Ideas and opinions
  • Feelings about everyday life
  • Interests
  • Work
  • Current events
  • Birth, marriage, death, and concerns related to one's health and body
  • Complementary terms indicating frequency, duration, and degree

Topics in units 9-12:

  • Home and Health
  • Life and World
  • Everyday Things
  • Places and Events


Units 13-16: These units give learners the opportunity to increase their understanding of the language as they build on their success in units 1-12. Vocabulary and skills emphasized include:

  • Navigate the workplace
  • Caring for health
  • Arranging repairs
  • Moving abroad
  • Driving
  • Planning adventures
  • Health and emotional states for themselves and others
  • Expressing personal taste in terms of material and sensory preferences.

Topics in units 13-16:

  • Tourism and Recreation
  • Professions and Hobbies
  • At Home and Around Town
  • Style and Personal Wellness

Units 17-20:  This level allows learners to develop command of the language as they refine the crucial communication skills acquired in units 1-16. Vocabulary and skills emphasized include:

  • Emergency situations
  • Entertainment
  • Government
  • The marketplace
  • Getting to know a neighborhood
  • Family and traditions
  • Celebrating success  
  • Volunteering
  • Express personal concerns, goals, and accomplishments

Topics in units 17-20:

  • Business and Industry
  • Arts and Academics
  • Emergency Situations
  • Family and Community

You can try sample lessons from all levels in our Online Demo.

Was this article helpful?