Allow Chrome Access to your Camera and Microphone - Rosetta Stone Support
English

Allow Chrome Access to your Camera and Microphone


When clicking on "Continue" to set up your microphone, you may see a banner in Chrome asking you to allow "totale.rosettastone.com" access to your camera and microphone. 
If you are using Language Training, you will be prompted to allow "launch.rosettastone.com".

User-added image
  •  Selecting "Block" will cause the microphone set up to be unsuccessful, and you will not be able to pass the microphone setup screen.
  •  Selecting "Allow" may result in the initial microphone setup being unsuccessful, but repeating the setup will be successful.


If you select "Block", you will see a red X over a camera in the address bar, indicating your camera and microphone are blocked on this site.

User-added image

Here are instructions on how to proceed if "Block" is selected:
 
1. Click on the User-added image icon 
 
2. Click on "Settings"

3. Click on "Advanced" at the bottom of the page

4. Under "Privacy and security" click "Content Settings"

5. Click on "Microphone"

6. Make sure the following are configured correctly:
  • ​The microphone you are using must be selected from the drop-down menu.
  • "Ask before accessing (recommended)" must be toggled on (color blue).
  • If a domain ending in .rosettastone.com is listed under Block, click on the trash icon to the right of that domain to remove it from that list.
User-added image
 
When you load the page again, it will prompt you to "Allow" or "Block" Rosetta Stone access to the microphone.


 
NOTE: This setting is different than the settings to allow Adobe Flash to use the microphone.
As an alternative to the above instructions, you can click on the camera icon as seen below and have the site prompt you again next time it tries to access the microphone. 
Although the message reads "Allow access to your camera and microphone", Rosetta Stone will never access your camera. That is a third party message which is why it references the camera.

User-added image
 
If you make changes you must "Reload" the page before proceeding to the course.

Was this article helpful?

Previous MonthNext Month
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat